MUA’s Medical School Curriculum

The medical school curriculum at MUA is very similar to what you will discover at other medical schools that you may be familiar with. 

The foundation of any medical school curriculum—and this is especially true at MUA—are the five semesters of basic sciences.  This part of the MUA medical school curriculum takes place on our campus in Nevis. 

At the completion of the five semesters of basic sciences, you will then take you first and in some ways your most important licensing exam, the USMLE Step 1.  The clinical staff at MUA will work with you to create an individual academic plan for passing this important exam. 

Students then return to the U.S. or Canada to complete five semesters of clinical rotations at teaching hospitals that are affiliated with MUA.

The Six Core Competencies of the Medical School Curriculum

MUA’s medical school curriculum is based on six core competencies that are essential for the successful practice of medicine:

  • Patient Care
  • Scientific & Medical Knowledge
  • Lifelong Learning, Scholarship & Collaboration
  • Professionalism
  • Communication & Interpersonal Skills
  • Social & Community Context of Healthcare

Also important to know is that these competencies as a medical student are consistent with the ACGME competencies for residency programs in the United States and Can Med competencies for the residencies in Canada. 

Click on the links below to get more in-depth information on both parts of the medical school curriculum at MUA.


Basic Sciences Curriculum

In the Basic Sciences curriculum (essentially your first five semesters at MUA), you will build the knowledge base about health and disease of the human body that will serve you throughout the rest of your medical career.

View Courses

Clinical Curriculum

The Clinical curriculum is essentially the second half of medical school—Semesters 6 to 10—your last step before earning your M.D. and entering a residency program.

View Courses